Humboldt Community School District Board of Education Regular Meeting November 18, 2024

The Humboldt School Board of Education held a regular meeting at 5:30pm on Monday, November 18, 2024 at the Administration Office Board Room. Roll Call Mertz-Aye, Burres Youngs-Aye, Davis-Aye and Cornelius-Aye. Satern was absent. Also present were Administrators, Mr. Sprague, Mrs. Haselhuhn, Mr. Fedders, and Mrs. Smith, Alex McDougall with FFA Students, Rachelle Gerjets, David Wirtz, Morgan Parle, Larry Leibold, Lindsey Winter, Jeff Kleiss, Jen Lash, Cassie Cofer, Sara Bruening, Kylie Portz of the Humboldt Independent, Board Secretary, Rhiannon Lange, and Superintendent, Jim Murray.

Vice President Mertz called the meeting to order at 5:30pm. Davis moved, Burres Youngs seconded approval of the meeting agenda with addition of Item 9.1 Personnel Recommendation, and Payment of Bills. Motion carried unanimously.

No one was present to speak during Open Forum.

Superintendent Murray presented Champions for Children awards to Jen Lash, Cassie Cofer and Maggie Cowan for going above and beyond to meet the needs of a student.

Jen Lash and Cassie Cofer left the meeting at 5:34pm.

FFA Instructor, Alex McDougall and FFA students Adelyn Vinsand, Tyson Crahan, Makalya Stalpes and Parker Scott presented information on their trip to the National FFA Convention.

They left the meeting at 5:41pm along with Jeff Kleiss.

Taft Elementary Principal, Ryan Fedders, Mease Elementary Principal, Jenna Haselhuhn along with Elementary Teachers Morgan Parle and David Wirtz presented information on Elementary School Improvement.

Morgan Parle and David Wirtz left the meeting at 6:11pm.

Superintendent Murray updated the board on the Facilities-High School Concession Stand and Auditorium Fundraiser, School Improvement Advisory Committee Highlights from November 12th, Activities, and Student Board Members.

Cornelius moved, Burres Youngs seconded to approve the General Business Consent Items: **Minutes** of the October 21, 2024 Regular Board Meeting, **Financial Reports, Bills for Payment, Open Enrollment Requests** of Taylyn Humphrey (6th) from Fort Dodge to Humboldt for 2024-2025, Alexa Martinez (8th) from Clarion Goldfield to Humboldt for 2024-2025, Kerim (1st) and Katerim Yuridia Gomez Lopez (KG) from Humboldt to Clarion Goldfield for 2024-2025, and Brooklyn Sutterfield (8th) from Humboldt to Clayton Ridge for 2024-2025.

Personnel –Contract Amendments/Modifications: Transfer of Maria Robinson from Twin Rivers Head Cook to Elementary ELL Associate for 2024-2025 and Transfer of Zach Gotto from Assistant MS Baseball Coach to Head MS Baseball Coach for 2024-2025 **Personnel Resignations:** Liliana Raya Thompson as Taft EL Paraeducator effective October 29, 2024, Morgan Parle as 7th Grade Head Volleyball Coach, Krystal Miller as 7th Grade Assistant Volleyball Coach, and Ashley Mohr as Middle School Special Education Paraeducator effective December 20, 2024 **Personnel Recommendations**: Heather Carver as High School Paraprofessional for 2024-2025, Doug Van Pelt as Assistant High School Basketball Coach for 2024-2025 and Jeff Johnson as 9th Grade Baseball Coach for 2024-2025. Motion carried unanimously.

English Language Learner (ELL) District Coordinator, Cassie Smith along with Elementary and Secondary ELL Teachers, Sara Bruening and Rachelle Gerjets presented information on the K-12 Lau (EL) Plan and how they meet the needs of our English Learners.

Davis moved, Burres Youngs seconded to approve the K-12 LAU (EL) Plan for 2024-2025. Motion carried unanimously.

Davis moved, Cornelius seconded to approve out of state travel for the Girls Wrestling Tournament on January 4, 2025. Motion carried unanimously.

Cornelius moved, Burres Youngs seconded to approve policies for first read with changes.

- 506.2 Student Directory Information
- 506.2E1 Authorization for Releasing Student Directory Information
- 506.2R1 Student Directory Information-Use of Directory Information
- 506.3 Student Photographs
- 506.4 Student Library Circulation Records
- 506.4E1 Student Library Circulation Records Form
- 702 Cash in School Buildings
- 704.5 Student Activities Fund
- 705.1R1 Purchasing-Bidding-Suspension and Debarment of Vendors and Contractors Procedure
- 707.5 Internal Controls
- 801.4 Site Acquisition
- 803.1 Disposition of Obsolete Equipment
- 711.7 School Bus Safety Instruction
- 711.8R1 Transportation in Inclement Weather Regulation
- 711.10 School Bus Passenger Restraints
- 711.10R1 School Bus Seat Belt Policy
- 901.1 Transporting Students in Private Vehicles

Motion carried unanimously.

Burres Youngs moved, Davis seconded for Policies for second read

- 202.5 Student School Board Representatives
- 407.3 Licensed Employee Retirement
- 407.3B Licensed Employee Voluntary Early Retirement Benefit
- 413.2 Classified Employee Retirement
- 413.2B Classified Employee Voluntary Early Retirement Benefit
- 502.10 Use of Motor Vehicles
- 503.9 Student Use of Personal Electronic Devices
- 503.9R1 Student Use of Personal Electronic Devices Regulation
- 603.1 Basic Instruction Program

- 700 Purpose of Noninstructional and Business Services
- 802.4 Capital Assets

Motion carried unanimously.

Vice President Mertz called for nominations for Board President. Mertz nominated Tate Satern as Board President and Davis seconded the motion. There were no further nominations. Tate Satern was elected President of the Humboldt Board of Education. The oath of office will be administered to Satern for Board President at a later date.

Vice President Mertz called for nominations for Board Vice President. Davis nominated Jim Mertz and Cornelius seconded the motion. There were no further nominations. Jim Mertz was elected Vice President of the Humboldt Board of Education. The oath of office was administered to Mertz for Board Vice President.

The board set the following committee appointments: Delegate Assembly-Dr. Bettie Burres Youngs County Conference Board-Shane Davis Education Foundation-Ryan Cornelius Negotiations Team-Tate Satern and Jim Mertz Policy Review-Dr. Bettie Burres Youngs District Advisory (SIAC)-Shane Davis Facility Committee-Shane Davis

Burres Youngs moved, Cornelius seconded to approve Board Secretary for 2024-2025 school year as Rhiannon Lange and Board Treasurer for 2024-2025 school year as Lisa Thul. The oath of office was given to Secretary Lange. The oath of office will be given to Lisa Thul at a later date. Motion carried unanimously.

Davis moved, Cornelius seconded to approve the appointment of Ahlers & Cooney, P.C. as Legal Counsel for 2024-2025. Motion carried unanimously.

Burres Youngs moved, Davis seconded to approve the Official Publication of the Humboldt Independent for 2024-2025. Motion carried unanimously.

The board set the time and place for board meetings to be the same as last year, 5:30pm on the 3rd Mondays of the month at the Central Administration Office, unless otherwise noted.

Davis moved, Cornelius seconded, the meeting be adjourned. The meeting adjourned at 7:08pm.

Tate Satern, President

Rhiannon Lange, Secretary