Humboldt Community School District Board of Education Regular Meeting March 18, 2024

The Humboldt School Board of Education held a regular meeting at 5:30pm on Monday, March 18, 2024 at the Administration Office Board Room. Roll Call-Satern-Aye, Mertz-Aye, and Clark-Aye, Davis-Aye. Myott was absent. Also present were Administrators, Travis Sprague, Cassie Smith, and Ryan Fedders, Tony Thilges, Technology Director, Greg Wickett, Jason Hoag, and Jen Lash, Phil Monson of the Humboldt Independent, Jeff Kleiss, Larry Leibold, Board Secretary, Rhiannon Lange, and Superintendent, Jim Murray.

President Satern called the meeting to order at 5:30pm. Mertz moved, Clark seconded approval of the meeting agenda with addition of Item 11.1 Payment of Bills. Motion carried unanimously.

No one was present to speak during Open Forum.

President Satern presented Champions for Children Awards to Jeff Kleiss representing Transportation Director, Leo Reigelsberger and Bus Drivers for transporting students safely.

President Satern also presented Champions for Children Awards to Taft Elementary Principal, Ryan Fedders and Mease Elementary Principal, Jenna Haselhuhn for Leading Taft and Mease Elementary to the highest level so that there is learning and success for all.

Jeff Kleiss left the meeting at 5:35pm.

The Humboldt Education Association proposed to open negotiations but will withhold their proposal until the first negotiations meeting.

Superintendent Murray discussed proposing a \$500 salary increase per FTE and the district will implement legislative salary mandates. The district will make a formal proposal at the first negotiations meeting.

Greg Wickett, Jason Hoag and Jen Lash left the meeting at 5:42pm.

Superintendent Murray updated the board on Staffing, SIAC Meeting is March 19th at 5:30pm, Joint Work Session with Twin Rivers will be March 26th at 6:00pm, Grants from Music Boosters and Athletic Boosters, Legislative Update, Facilities Update on Taft Elementary, HS Front Office, ALPHA, and Grass Seeding/Landscaping.

Davis moved, Mertz seconded to approve the General Business Consent Items: **Minutes** of the February 12, 2024 Regular Board Meeting and March 5, 2024 Special Board Meeting **Financial Reports, Bills for Payment, Open Enrollment Requests**: Kira Baardson (8th) from Humboldt to Pocahontas for 2023-2024; Dahlia Marxer (TK) from Twin Rivers to Humboldt for 2023-2024; Aerimez (6th) and Zayta (3rd) Whorley from Humboldt to Clarion-Goldfield for 2023-2024; Kathryn Riggert (3rd) from Humboldt to Clayton Ridge for 2023-2024; Maholy (11th), Bayron (7th) and Joseph (10th) Ramirez from Eagle Grove to Humboldt for 2023-2024; Brody Wright (1st) from Fort Dodge to Humboldt for

2023-2024; Trayton (7th), Carlee (6th) and Shaylee (9th) King from Humboldt to GCB/WBM for 2023-2024

Personnel –Contract Amendments/Modifications: None

Personnel Resignations: Ryan Fredin as 8th Grade Football Coach

Personnel Recommendations: Kennedy Halsrud as 8th ELA and HS English Teacher for 2024-2025. Motion carried unanimously.

Mertz moved, Clark seconded to approve the Taft Elementary Cabinetry Proposal to be from Fletcher Wood Products in the amount of \$50,450. Motion carried unanimously.

Clark moved, Mertz seconded to approve the Early Graduation Request of Anthony Stalpes. Motion carried unanimously.

Davis moved, Mertz seconded to approve to Set the date, time and place for a public hearing on the FY25 Budget prior to approval to be April 15, 2024 at 5:30pm at the District Office. Motion carried unanimously.

Clark moved, Mertz seconded to approve the Cooperative Agreement with UNI for Student Teaching for 2024-2025. Motion carried unanimously.

Mertz moved, Clark seconded to approve the Extension Agreement with FSMC-Opaa! for 2024-2025. Motion carried unanimously.

Davis moved, Clark seconded to approve Technology Purchases of Chromebooks, Licenses, and Carrying Cases to be from CDW-G in the amount of \$113,573.75 and Erate Access Points from Advanced Network Professionals in the amount of \$72,664.41. This comes with a 70% reimbursement. Motion carried unanimously.

Tony Thilges, Technology Director left the meeting at 6:15pm.

Davis moved, Mertz seconded to approve the Iowa Local Government Risk Pool Commission Natural Gas Program Participation Agreement from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025. Motion carried unanimously.

Clark moved, Davis moved, to approve 2024-2025 Furniture Purchases from Premier Furniture in the amount of \$77,826.95 for Taft Elementary, HS Front Office, Middle School and Mease Elementary. Motion carried unanimously.

Davis moved, Mertz seconded to approve policies for first read with changes.

- 505.8 Parent and Family Engagement District Wide Policy
- 409.3E3 Certification of Health Care Provider for Employee's Serious Health Condition (FMLA)-Rescind
- 409.3E4 Certification of Health Care Provider for Family Member's Serious Health Condition (FMLA)-Rescind
- 409.3E5 Designation Notice (FMLA)-Rescind
- 413.1 Classified Employee Resignation
- 413.3 Classified Employee Suspension
- 413.4 Classified Employee Dismissal
- 413.5 Classified Employee Reduction in Force
- 414 Classified Employee Professional Purposes Leave
- 415.1 Complimentary Pass

Motion carried unanimously.

Mertz moved, Davis seconded to approve Policies for second read:

- 410.1 Substitute Teachers
- 410.2 Summer School Licensed Employees
- 410.4 Education Associate
- 411.1 Classified Employee Defined
- 411.2 Classified Employee-Qualifications, Recruitment, Selection
- 411.3 Classified Employee Contracts
- 411.4 Classified Employee Licensing/Certification
- 411.5 Classified Employee Assignment
- 411.6 Classified Employee Transfers
- 411.7 Classified Employee Evaluation
- 411.8 Classified Employee Probationary Status
- 412.1 Classified Employee Compensation
- 412.2 Classified Employee Wage and Overtime Compensation
- 412.3 Classified Employee Group Insurance Benefits
- 412.4 Classified Employee Tax Shelter Programs

Motion carried unanimously.

President Satern reviewed Board Correspondence from Erin Wittrock thanking the board for the Evelyn Griffin Scholarship.

Davis moved, Mertz seconded, the meeting be adjourned. The meeting adjourned at 6:26p.m.

Tate Satern, President

Rhiannon Lange, Secretary